Back to All Events

Awarding of the SF Bay Classic Championship Series Trophies

  • St Francis Yacth Club (map)

In early 2019, the MMBA REGATTA, BELVEDERE CUP AND JESSICA CUP sponsoring clubs got together to talk about improving participation in all three regattas. Present at the meeting was Paul Dines and Steven Kibler of the MMBA, Angie Lackey, John Swain and Alan Olson of the SFYC and Terry Klaus of the St. FYC.

It was decided that establishing a SF Bay Classic Championship might encourage MMBA boats to sail in the other regattas, and those who only sail in the Belvedere Cup and or Jessica Cup to sail in the MMBA regatta.

It was decided that a season Champion Trophy would be presented to three class champions at the last regatta of the season, the Jessica Cup, on October 19, 2019. See the announcement and rules for the Classic Season Championship here.

The classes awarded a season champion trophy would be Marconi 1 (boats over 40 ft on deck), Marconi II (boats 30 ft to 40 ft on deck) and a Gaff class (for all lengths).

Scoring for the Classic Cup would be from all three regattas, but to qualify, a boat would only have to race in two of the three. Scoring is set a one point for a first, two points for a second, three points for a third and four points for did not race or participation in the regatta. As the regattas have different divisions and classes, boat rig and length will be the grouping factor for for the Season Championship .

The trophies were donated by the members of the organizing committee, with wooden bases donated by Steve Hutchinson.

All are invited for the awards presentation at the dinner after the Jessica Cup on Saturday, October 19, 2019 at the St. FYC.

Earlier Event: October 19
2019 Jessica Cup